happy new year

“In 2015, I’m going to do (insert new thing here) OR “I’m going to stop doing (insert bad habit here).”

How familiar does this sound? How many Facebook/twitter/ instagram posts did you see stating the habits that many of our social media friends were going to begin?

It’s almost as if we believe that as the clock strikes midnight, we are going to gain some miraculous superhero strength that’s only available once a year on January 1st and that we couldn’t possibly begin to instil new habits any other time of the year because that would be absolutely ludicrous!

I used to think the exact same way until I realised that yes, we do need to have goals, things to focus on and build our lives on, but these should be set all year round and not just on the first day of the year only to be put into practice and then forgotten about less than 4 weeks later. After all, studies have shown that most people have given up on their new years resolutions by February 1st! So for all you regular gym users struggling to find parking in the first week of the new year, don’t worry, service and parking spaces will be back to normal in about 3 weeks when the new influx decide to try again next January!

I quit new years resolutions just under 2 years ago when I realised that if I really wanted to see changes in my life, then I would need to start creating a lifestyle as opposed to an unrealistic fad that would lift me up for a short period of time only to shoot me back down again just a couple weeks later.

Over the weekend, I met with a friend over coffee (actually mine was a green tea since coffee, to me, tastes like sadness in a cup!).

When I asked her what her goals were, I loved her response of how she decided last year to focus on being the best “me” that she could be.

And I think that’s the point that most of us are missing.

Rather than focusing on the bad habits we want to break unrealistically, I believe we ought to be more focused on becoming the best “us” or “me” that we could possibly be. If we were on all on continuous quest to better ourselves, then we wouldn’t need to wait until January 1st to build a better foundation for the year to come. Instead we would live our lives filled with the confidence and the sense of fulfilment that each of us desires to have if we took the time out daily rather than yearly, to set goals, build vision and work on ourselves.

God, make a fresh start in me, shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life. Don’t throw me out with the trash, or fail to breathe holiness in me. Bring me back from gray exile, put a fresh wind in my sails! Psalm 51:10-12 MSG

Please understand, I’m not against setting new years resolutions because they still give you vision. What I am against that way we limit ourselves to only think its possible to better ourselves at the beginning of the year as opposed to all year round. I need a FRESH wind in my sails daily so why would I wait for the New Year before I made the changes that my body/finances/career needed in just one season of the year?

Maybe you disagree with me. If so, I would like to hear from YOU, your reasons for this. Please feel free to comment below, and who knows, maybe you’ll change my opinion…or maybe not! Happy New Year!

homer exercise

P.S: NWM is back THIS Friday (09/01/15) and I would love for you to come along and join the journey in our women’s Bible study group. We meet for 7:30pm in Thamesmead, London area. So if you or anyone you know would like to come then shoot me over an email: adenikenwm@gmail.com

xxx

