So on Friday 26th September, we had NWM and boy was I glad to be doing what I love the most; talking!

elmo talks

But on a serious note, it felt good to be able to share the message and the visions I have for NWM and what it’s all about.

So what is it about? I hear you say. Well, NWM is more than a Bible Study. My hope and my prayer is that NWM will always be a community of women doing life authentically together with the hope of encouraging and inspiring one another to go deeper in our faith, aim higher in our goals and further with our discipline.

Although most of the girls in attendance of Fridays meeting were most likely familiar with the message of NWM, I felt it necessary to go over the vision, as it was important that everyone knew where NWM was heading. It’s important that those who come alongside you have a clear vision of the direction you are heading into so that no one loses focus or drops off along the way, unsure of what’s ahead.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.- Matthew 5:14-16 MSG

 

One of the key things we touched on was how we are shining lights in this world. We discussed how we could make a difference in our environments and how we could be seeds of change in our sphere of contact.

lets do coffee together

I believe that no matter where we are, we can still show the light that God has placed within us by choosing to be the change we want to see.

If we are in an environment that’s full of gossip and malice, then why not start by changing the direction in which a conversation goes. Or maybe just walking away when that type of negativity begins to rear its ugly head, will show another girl or woman in your circle how to behave when these things begin to happen.smiley faces

You never know how your decision to be different could affect another person.

One thing I wanted each girl to realize is that not everybody will give you the opportunity to share the gospel with him or her, but everybody you come into contact with will be given an insight into your faith just by the way you act.

It’s very important we remember this on a daily basis. I am by no means saying we should be “fake” because eventually what’s inside us will pour out. But we need to be mindful of the One we claim to represent on a daily basis.

Other key areas we looked at included the fact that:

  • God never intended for us to do life alone, hence the reason there are so many great examples of relationship in the Bible.
  • Friendship is a vital part of NWM. And that’s why I encourage each girl who comes along, to invite somebody else.
  • NWM isn’t about numbers. If that were the case, I would have stopped doing it a long time ago. NWM is something I am passionate about. It literally excites me to see other girls and women rise up and take their place of calling and take it seriously for nothing BUT His glory.
  • We live in such a self-absorbed generation where people only seem to be interested in what benefits them.

I felt it was really important to go over the NWM guiding principle which goes in line with the NWM life verse from Matthew 5:14-16 from the MSG translation:

“ To be a shining light to the world around us for His glory.”

And this is what I hope every girl or woman who comes through NWM becomes. My hope is that every single meeting, we will leave that bit more inspired and encouraged to do exactly as God is calling each of us to.

eat together

So I am majorly excited for our next meeting this Saturday at my house in Greenhithe. We are going to be doing something a little different with a cook out! Each girl will be bringing something that they have either prepared themselves or even just bought! Either way, I believe it’s going to be a fun night.

This week’s message is titled “ EYE HART U!” If you haven’t guessed already then we will be discussing RELATIONSHIPS starting with being single, S.E.X.Y (I guarantee you will never be able to guess what this stands for!) And focused!

why am i sngle

I will also be sharing my own (un) successful single story so be sure to arrive early at 6:30pm! It’s going to a fun night so be sure to invite others.

Don’t forget, if you would like to come along, then email me: Adenikenwm@gmail.com.

Be sure to check back on Monday for the next meeting round up xxx

excited homer

