More people would learn from their mistakes if they weren’t so busy denying them.
– Harold J Smith

So last week, I planned to blog what i believed to have been a brutally honest post that may have made a few stomachs turn. However, my computer had other ideas and this wasnt to be the case. But i felt this post was too important not to share. So this weeks blog is last weeks mess up that almost wasnt! Hopefully, it will make more sense than my opening lines. Have a great week and enjoy the following lines. xxx

Tuesday 8th July 2014

I think I almost died yesterday! Or at least it FELT like I was dying! You see, I over, over,over indulged. I had a take away for lunch dinner and dessert. I am not even going to go into detail about any of the take aways because right now, I don’t think my stomach could take it.

The way i am feeling has forced me to ask myself, “what example am I setting for the children?” when i choose to stuff my face with the very things i tell them are unhealthy. Just yesterday, my son told me his favourite drink was COKE! Please note, I have NEVER given my children coke or any other fizzy drink, but they have watched mummy and daddy drink it on several occasions and you know how it goes.

fat guy

I have to be real with myself. I let myself down when I allowed the dictates of the flesh or should i say the sweet smell of freshly fried chips and a greased infused fish, to rule. No one held a gun to my head and said EAT OR YOU DIE!! And now my tummy is suffering for it. And so is my husbands!

For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭21‬ NLT)

I genuinely feel as though my insides are turning inside out. And now to the person who has ever said (like myself) “I don’t drink because I am a Christian, do you over eat? Because if you do, in my opinion it’s as bad and just as dangerous as binge drinking! Yep, I said it, shoot me if you like. But the truth is, if I were to eat like this EVERYDAY, I am no better than the person who drinks everyday.

If you thought that over eating only lead to a bit of weight gain, then think again. Here are some of the other things a scone here and there will do to you over time;

  • Weight gain, often leading to obesity (Well duhh!)
  • High blood pressure
  • High cholesterol
  • Chronic kidney problems or kidney failure
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Diabetes
  • Stroke
  • Rapid ageing
  • Infertility or Complications during pregnancy

Going through that list is a scary thought to even consider and it’s not the way or anybody wants to live. One of my greatest reasons for not only wanting to lose weight but to get fit is my children. I don’t want them to go through some of the same things I am going through. I want them to have a healthy relationship with food and not one that involves COKE!! If I want to be an example to anybody in this life, it’s starts by being one to my children. It starts by living out what I speak about. And that means living wholeheartedly for Christ. He set aside everything just so I could live and NOT so I could waste the length of my days by overindulging. For me, living and REAL living IS living for Christ, acknowledging Him every step of the way, appreciating every gift that came with the cross and DYING to “self” DAILY.

IMG_0048

I believe that’s the best way for me to live in the presence of my children with the hope that they would one day live that way for their children. I have learnt a valuable lesson as a result of yesterday. And I am not ashamed to admit, I am suffering the consequences of my greed today. And so is my toilet!

sick homer

